Wednesday Words – Babbling

I have discovered my current heroine, Mona Lisa Kubrek, tends to babble when she’s anxious. And sometimes when she’s not and simply needs to provide a distraction. Other times, well you’ll have to read the story to find out the other times!

These have been quite fun to write, so I thought I’d share a small sample of one instance from early in the story:

Keeping my hands low I started move the symbols around. As a Warder, I couldn’t get rid of the spell; I can’t work magic, only see it. I could, though, change spells once they are cast. To cover my movements, I began to talk. Well babble, since that’s what I do when I’m nervous.

“Oh my god! I’m so glad you’re here. My friend Tania,” I gestured at Raine hoping she’d pick up on the fake name, “She’s been like, being stalked, by the father of her child. She’s told him she’s keeping the baby and he isn’t too pleased. I mean, really not pleased. Threw out all her winter clothes, ruined her car and hid her purse. Like, as if being preggos by a numbskull wasn’t enough, you know?”

Let me know what you think!

 

