Five days to go & music is in the air

I’m old enough that when I think of music and the number five, it’s the Jackson Five which come to mind, not Maroon 5 (fine as Adam Levine is).

And, for some odd reason, I think of an old Sesame Street skit where Lefty is selling something to Ernie for a nickel.

I wish I could hire Lefty to pitch my story to an agent. Or, more accurately, Joe Raposo, the song writer.

Oh, that sounds like fun. Without further ado, day five is ‘the pitch parody’ of Joe Raposo’s Would You Like to Buy an O. Enjoy!

(Hey Agent! Who me! Shh. Who me? Write!)

Would you like to buy a story, round and neat

A nearly perfect plot line, tidy and complete

You can sell a million books with it, I know

Ooh-ooh-o0h

(isn’t that catchy?)

Would you like to buy my story, I blog a lot and tweet

It reads just like a novel, one with a bit of heat

I’ll quote you just a nibble

(A nibble! Shh. A nibble? Write!)

So try the story, and take it home tonight

(Now listen, when you pick this story you get two genres for the price of one. You get one story which  you can see I use characters like Elves, Shifters and Cops. And with no extra reading you get another story for a tale of Romance, Love, Sex and Commitment,)

So, would like to try my story, commitment is assured. It’s (not) all I have to offer, just ask I’ll send you more.

I’ll quote you just a nibble

(A nibble! Shh. A nibble? Write!)

So try the story, and take it home tonight

I answer any questions

Just try the story and take it home tonight

You’ll really love it

Please try the story and take it home tonight”

LOL, okay, don’t think I’d sell anything with that pitch – too little information on the story! – but it sure was fun to write 🙂

10 thoughts on “Five days to go & music is in the air

  1. I’m so old I remember when three of us cut high school to watch the debut episode of Sesame Street.
    And the second. And the third, fourth….
    I blame Ed Sullivan for my juvenile delinquency. His show introduced us to Kermit’s predecessor.

  2. Oh, that was fun! Thanks for sharing with us. Holding your hand through this baby! You’ll deliver a perfect baby!

Comments are closed.