GUTGAA BETA READER Sign-up!

EVERYONE WHO RESPONDED PRIOR TO MIDNIGHT, FRIDAY SEPT 7, IS NOW ON A MASTER LIST HERE. YOU CAN STILL COMMENT, BUT I CAN’T GUARANTEE I’LL BE ABLE TO GET YOU ON THE LISTS.

I’m thrilled Deana Barnhart took me up on my offer to help host the BETA/Critique Group Connect. As you can tell by the title, I’ll be hosting the BETA reader connect here.

Of course the first question is: What is a Beta Reader? (often followed by why do I need one and/or what’s the difference between a Beta Reader  and Critique Partner?)

Rosslyn Elliot has a great in depth answers to all these questions on her blog. But basically the answer to what a BETA reader is boils down to two things:

  1. A BETA reader is there to give you a reader’s perspective on your story, which is entirely subjective. Did they like it? How did they feel about the characters? How about the pacing? At any point were they confused or thrown out of the story?
  2. A BETA reader is often NOT A WRITER, just someone who is widely read in the genre you write in and whose opinion you trust.

Conversely, a critique partner is typically a fellow writer who is giving you an objective opinion and generally focuses more on improving the craft of your writing as well as editing and clarity. However, as anyone who has been in a critique group knows or has a good BETA reader knows, sometimes the lines are blurred, but generally the guidelines subjective = BETA Reader and objective = Critique Partner work.

So, what’s the next step?

If you’re looking for both a critique partner/group and beta readers please sign up below for the beta connect and over at Deana’s Blog for the critique connect.

If you’re looking for just a critique partner or  to form a group sign up over at Deana’s Blog.

And, if you’re looking for just a BETA reader, sign up here.

If you’re a reader and looking to become a BETA reader, sign up below as well. 

WRITERS:

Please post the following:

1) A brief introduction.
2) Is it only for a current WIP or are you looking for someone long term?
3) If current what is the project (a one sentence summary along with genre and age target)
4) If long term what do you like to write (age target and general genres)
5) Do you have something ready now? When do you anticipate having something ready/needing a BETA Reader?

I’d also suggest linking to your blog/website. 🙂

BETA READERS:

Please post the following:

1) Tell us a little about yourself.
2) Let us know the genres you feel you are well read in.
3) Time commitment you can offer (can you read a book a month?  a chapter a week?)

One last point for BETA readers:  NO book sharing without the author’s consent. Not typically a problem, but I do feel better for having said it specifically.

I’ll be online most of the day and working to hook up BETA’s and writers, but don’t hesitate to jump in if you think you see a good match!

***ETA: Since I am playing catch up (again!) today and Deana is keeping the critique thread open until Friday, I’ll wait until then. I’ll probably do some semi-geeky spread sheet thing too and post it, so check back! Not sure if I’ll append it to this post or make a new one, depends on how much data I end up with.

82 thoughts on “GUTGAA BETA READER Sign-up!

  1. 1) Hey, my name is Rich B Knight and I’m looking for a beta reader for my speculative fiction story.
    2) It’s only short-term.
    3) It’s a story about a husband and wife who journey into their unborn child’s subconscious to prevent him from miscarrying himself.
    4) My target age is for 18-35 year olds, and my genre is realistic fantasy.
    5) I definitely have something ready, but I need to see another subjective viewpoint. Thanks, y’all.

Comments are closed.