12/10 Zombie ‘Pitch’ Party, Editor Shop … Am I missing any?

Ran across this and wanted to share it. This is NOT a pitch opportunity (not sure why that’s in the title), however it’s a nice way to meet other authors, get some feed back, find CPs and keep on track. The ‘hop’ part starts today, 12/10,** NOTE THE DATE HAS CHANGED TO 12/21 –> go to Of A Writerly Sort’s Blog for more information.  Here’s a bit more information, be sure to go to the site(s) for full details!

 

Zombie Apocalyptic Pitch Party

 

The end of the world is coming! Are you prepared for the zombie apocalypse? No? Well, Julie Upshur and I are offering creating zombie apocalypse teams, ensuring that all of us survive imminent doom. So turn off your Christmas music and grab your AK-47s. We’re heading to the critiquing trenches.

Introducing… ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE CRIT PARTY!

All zombie slayers will get a FREE QUERY CRITIQUE and have the opportunity to win either a 3 chapter critique or a full manuscript critique from the world class zombie slayers Julie or myself. All participants will also get to meet lots of other amazing writers. To enter, just send your query letters to zappcontest(at)gmail(dot)com. The entry window will close at

THE APOCALYPSE TEAMS

The teams will be split by genre. Because there is a mix of MG, YA, and NA, the teams will be just subgenres, so here they are:

TEAM FANTASY/PARANORMAL: #ZAPPTeamFP

TEAM SCI FI: #ZAPPTeamSciFi

TEAM CONTEMPORARY/ROMANCE: #ZAPPTeamConRom;

TEAM MYSTERY/THRILLER/HISTORICAL: #ZAPPTeamMystHist

I realize those groupings are rather broad. If you have a mash-up, say, like my story, which is a Steampunk Fantasy, go with the one you’d consider your main genre (I’d pick Fantasy, personally. Up to you).

I’ve only run across one pitch opportunity coming up over the next week. Over at Muse Tracks, they’re having their Agent/Editor Shop on December 15:

I’m happy to say the awesome Rhonda Penders with The Wild Rose Press will be our first ever guest editor at Editor Shop, and I wish you all the best of luck on pitch day.

December 15th is pitch day, so mark your calendars!

IF you know of a contest I’ve missed, particularly a multi-agent/editor contest!, please leave me a message and I’ll be sure to add it to the list. I really appreciate all the help I get finding the contests and updating the information to keep everything current.

I posted this information a couple of times, and I still think it’s really relevant. Hmmm, maybe I should make a page/sticky and move it to its own special place. Next week, look for that. In the mean time, here is the information again:

Now we all want to think every agent and editor out there is legit and a majority of them are. But there are a few things you’ll want to consider as you enter contests (and NO, I do not mean you shouldn’t enter contests – just go in with eyes wide open 🙂 ) I’m pointing this out now, so *when* you get your offer (and I am saying when, since I’m pulling for you!)  you’ll have done  your due diligence and checked out the agent/press who has contacted you. One place to start is Sarah LaPolla’s blog post on ‘Shady Business’  where she talks about ‘new’ agents who have no experience as well as new (e)publishers . She has EXCELLENT advice on what to look for (and what to watch out for) as you look for an agent/at new e-pubs. Another blog with excellent advice is Writer Beware Blogs & Guest Blog Post: Mustering the Courage to Turn Down a Publishing Contract. Personally I’d suggest checking things out prior to entering any contests so if there’s a request for more information you can go in eyes wide open and not just respond in a heady rush. To be clear, I’m not saying there have been any publishers which are on any of the ‘beware’ lists, or anything of that nature, in any contest that I am aware of, just that it make sense to not automatically assume a publisher (or agent) is in ‘good standing’ because they are taking part in a contest. (and that was clear as mud, but hopefully you get the point)

